Learning how to color…

I absolutely adore and admire Kate Hadfield’s work. I love her hand-colored elements, and I have always wanted to know how to make my creations look like I colored them myself. Since I am completely self-taught on my art-work, I hadn’t learned how to do this … until today.

I’m so excited to have found this blog post which shows exactly how to color and shade appropriately! She discusses using Copic Markers, which I am half-tempted to run out and purchased based on her tutorials, but since I can’t really draw worth a lick, I’m afraid that might be a bit foolish. Instead, I used these same techniques in ArtRage, and came up with this:

I’m pretty happy with my first attempt at shading with markers!

I am also just about ready to finish up the Art of Digital Design class at JessicaSprague.com. This class has helped me grow as a designer, and I now feel that I am ready to join all the other fabulous designers and make my little mark on the internet world. I am so very thankful to A Moment in Scrap for giving me my start. Here we go!

One response to “Learning how to color…

  1. Michelle Houghton

    So glad you liked the Copic Tutorial! If you have any questions so not hesitate to ask. I love to teach and help others learn to draw, it’s what I do. Your flower looks great, no matter what kind of markers you used!

Leave a Reply

